Recycling: Save and earn

April 8, 2008

I have to admit that I was one of the Copasetic individuals who thought that recycling wasn’t a valid option for me. My sister, who is studying Environmental Health, has made numberous attempts to try to awake me to the values of recycling. The recent opening of a recyling center in a nearby town lulled me into giving it one shot. “Yeah, Sure,” I thought, “this will be way too hard for me.” I take it back, now. It is way too easy not to do, and it is saving me major $$.

First of all, recyling will save money on your garbage disposal services. Many garbage services charge a flat rate for a set amount of garbage and gouge you for any access. Take into account the price of the landfield sites that cities purchase, especially since that price can trickle down in taxes. I could also mention the hard to ingore effects that recycling has on our environment and the health of our lives and land.

However, recycling can do more. Recyling aluminum can earn you 75 cents a pound in my area. Pop cans, soup cans, and dog food cans have been transforming into a few dollers to save toward bills in my household. I was gobsmacked when a recent recycling trip earned me a whopping $17. In larger areas, recyling efforts even grant discounts toward your garbage pickup bills. Call your garbage service, and you may be surprised to learn various other ways that recycling may save you money or even earn you a little extra.

2 Responses to “Recycling: Save and earn”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Great post. I’ve been thinking of starting to go green. My brother in law is and I think it looks like it could be fun yet helpful. We’ll see how it goes.

  2. Your sister Says:

    I’ve rubbed off on you- yay!!!

Leave a Reply

