The Balancing Dance

July 29, 2008

There can be various reasons why you may want to get out of debt. You may want to do it because you are tired of being being owned by credit cards, or because you want to give your family a better life. Perhaps you have a multitude of reasons.

As for myself, I want to get out of debt because I am tired. Tired of arguing about money. Tired of Worrying about money. My motives are pure – but I still need to be cautious to have a balance in my money walk.

What is there to balance?

I’m not talking about balancing my checkbook or even balancing my budget. Those things are essential to making my family’s debt-free dream a reality. The balancing that I need to be cautious of comes in three forms: my LORD, my family, and myself.

Balance with my LORD

If I do not live my life in balance with my LORD, all my debt-reduction efforts are dung. Cutting back my lifestyle, cutting out splurges and cutting off unnecessary spending cannot get in the way of my service to The LORD. I must continue to tithe my money to helping the church. I need to make an offering of my time and talents to CHRIST JESUS first. Throwing everything I got at my debt cannot include throwing my relationship with CHRIST JESUS out. Ultimately I know that HE will ” supply all {my} need according to HIS riches…” (Philippians 4:19, emphasis mine)

Balancing my family

I agree that any/all debt-reduction efforts must be a family work. However, I cannot allow every moment of my time be so consumed that I neglect my husband and two sons. By working together to annihilate our debt, I can still spend time with them. I also must take time to just love on them with one-on-one time. There must be time to play, laugh, and enjoy the time I have with them.


Leave a Reply

